The Vienna Secession (also known as the Union of Austrian Artists, or Vereinigung Bildender Künstler Österreichs) was formed in 1897 by a group of Austrian artists who had resigned from the Association of Austrian Artists, housed in the Vienna Künstlerhaus. This movement included painters, sculptors, and architects.

Jugendstil owls – Detail of the facade of the Secession Building (Vienna, Austria) – The designs for the Secession building’s facade decoration are attributed to Koloman Moser. Photo by Alberto Fernandez Fernandez